International Conference on Multiaxial Fatigue and Fracture (ICMFF)


Many engineering components and structures in the automotive, aerospace, power generation, and other industries are subjected to multiaxial stresses during their service life.  Despite increased efforts to understand multiaxial fatigue and fracture behaviour of materials and structures, failure assessment procedures are becoming more complex.  This is partly due to the synergistic effects of many parameters and variables involved with regards to the material behaviour, component geometry, manufacturing process, and service load history.

This series of publications collects the Proceedings of Conferences held every three years.  Such Conferences have brought together both fatigue and fracture experts from Industries, Universities and so on, to exchange recent information and discuss on how to promote research and development in this field.

The first conference of the series was held in 1982 in San Francisco, USA.  Subsequent conferences were held in Sheffield, UK (1985), Stuttgart, Germany (1989), St. Germain-en-Laye, France (1994), Cracow, Poland (1997), Lisbon, Portugal (2001), Berlin, Germany (2004), Sheffield, UK (2007), Parma, Italy (2010), Kyoto, Japan (2013), and Seville, Spain (2016).

The conference series will be continued in Bordeaux, France (June 2019) and San Francisco, USA (June 2022).

ICBFF2 1985

ICBFF3 1989


ICBFF4 1994

ICBFF5 1997



ICMFF9 2010


ICMFF10 2013

Scientific Committee


José Alexander Araújo

University of Brasilia, Brazil

Filippo Berto

NTNU, Trondheim, Norway

F.P. Brennan

Cranfield University, UK

Alfonso Fernández Canteli

University of Oviedo, Spain

Andrea Carpinteri

University of Parma, Italy

X. Chen

Tianjin University, China

Jaime Domínguez

University of Seville, Spain

Masahiro Endo

University of Fukuoka, Japan

Ali Fatemi

University of Toledo, USA

Siegfried Fouvry

Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France

Manuel de Freitas

Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal

Eugenio Giner Maravilla

Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain

Takamoto Itoh

Ritsumeikan University, Shiga, Japan

M.Neil James

Mechanical Engineering at Plymouth, UK

Andrei Georgievich Kotousov

Adelaide, Australia

Yukitaka Murakami

University of Fukuoka, Japan

Alfredo Navarro

University of Seville, Spain

Carlos Navarro

University of Seville, Spain

Thierry Palin-Luc

Arts et Métiers ParisTech, Talence, France

Les P. Pook

Sevenoaks, UK

Luis Reis

Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal

Masao Sakane

Ritsumeikan University, Shiga, Japan

Andrey Shanyavskiy

State Center for Flights Safety, Airport Sheremetievo-1, Moscow region, Chimkinskiy State, Russia

C. Morris Sonsino

University of Darmstadt, Germany

Luca Susmel

The University of Sheffield, UK

Keisuke Tanaka

Meijo University, Nagoya, Japan

Sabrina Vantadori

University of Parma, Italy

Michael Vormwald

University of Darmstadt, Germany